Easy Jambalaya

Oh the woes of a food blogger! Several times recently, I have made meals that have not only been delicious, but also pretty, and each time they get eaten before I manage to snap some photos. I’ll try harder to be more conscientious of that, since I think looking at photos is half the fun of reading a food blog.

In the meantime, though, here is a “recipe” to go with some photos I did manage to take! I warn you, though, this dish isn’t for people who avoid MSG. The main ingredient is none other than a pre-packaged rice mix.

I know, that’s cheating, right? But I want to share what I do when I’m short on time and energy and just want a quick meal of something hearty and delicious.

Easy Jambalaya

First thing I do is acquire some instant jambalaya mix (Hey, I warned you this recipe was cheating.)

I cheated and used a mix

Surprising fact; several (maybe most?) of the Zatarain’s mixes are vegan. So even though the box directs you to add a ton of meat to the mix, just ignore it and replace the meat with whatever you please.

I typically add 2 – 4 cups of mixed vegetables, and up to a pound of a protein; beans, tofu, mock chicken, and TVP all work well in this dish.

Here I am cooking some home-made seitan; I wanted to sear it first but when it started to stick I had to add some water to the pot.

Cooking seitan cubes

Then I add vegetables.

Mise en place

Here I have mushrooms, celery, garlic, carrot, red bell pepper, onion, and cabbage. I could have easily doubled the amount of vegeteables here; green bell peppers, tomatillos, tomatoes, jalapeno, zucchini, broccoli, leafy greens; nearly anything would be a good addition. Just remember to add tender leaves like spinach right at the end.

Then I just add the rice and seasoning and cook as per the package direction.

Easy Jambalaya

Easy peasy.

Leave a Reply

